“Quiet Life” by Japan - album review

features in: Album Chart of 1979Album Chart of the Decade: 1970s1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die external-link.png

TJR says

After a rather underwhelming start, Japan came good in '79 on their third long-player, synthesizers to the fore and a genuinely cool new vocal style from the frontman, now deemed so beautiful that he alone adorns the front-cover. The 5-piece line-up: David Sylvian (vocals, guitar), Rob Dean (guitar, backing vocals), Richard Barbieri (keyboards), Mick Karn (bass, saxophone, flute, backing vocals) and Steve Jansen (drums, percussion, backing vocals). No singles were released from the album at the time, although “Quiet Life” became a #19 hit in 1981 and their version of the Velvet Undergound's “All Tomorrow’s Parties” hit #39 in 1983.

The Jukebox Rebel

A1 [04:53] 9.3.png Japan - Quiet Life (David Sylvian) New Wave
A2 [04:31] 5.7.png Japan - Fall In Love With Me (David Sylvian) Cerebral Pop
A3 [05:56] 6.3.png Japan - Despair (David Sylvian) Moodcore
A4 [06:30] 5.4.png Japan - In Vogue (David Sylvian) New Wave
B1 [04:24] 6.5.png Japan - Halloween (David Sylvian) New Wave
B2 [05:43] 6.6.png Japan - All Tomorrow’s Parties (Lou Reed) New Wave
B3 [05:01] 5.5.png Japan - Alien (David Sylvian) New Wave
B4 [07:26] 5.2.png Japan - The Other Side Of Life (David Sylvian) Songwriter

© The Jukebox Rebel 2005-2020 All Rights Reserved